Winds of Change

According to traditional belief, because the symbols and mantras on prayer flags are sacred, they should be treated with respect. These flags are usually placed at a height, ideally at a doorframe.

Tibetan prayer flags come in sets of five colors: blue, white, red, green, and yellow. Blue symbolizes the sky and space, white symbolizes the air and wind, red symbolizes fire, green symbolizes water, and yellow symbolizes earth. These flags shouldn’t be separated in any way, and to destroy them you can let it either wither away or burn them without the un-burnt part of the flags touching the ground.

Another interesting belief is that these flags should be hung with utmost devotion, without malice, selfishness, or limiting thoughts. Here’s wishing everywhere finds their peace, happiness and contentment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.